This is What You can Learn from My Journey of 0 to 1K Followers

Short-cuts? or Struggles?

Anamika Sharma
3 min readJun 11, 2023

I don’t know how I found about Medium. But I’m thankful to God, I did.

At that time, I didn’t know about MPP or anything. I had no idea people were earning through Medium.

I came here to write. That’s it.

Looking back from here, it was a wonderful memory.

No one in my friends or family knew about it. So, no matter what topic I chose I knew no one could judge me.

So, I began writing. I published my first article on 26 April 2022. It was about haircare. Nothing much happened. But I did not give up.

Then I published about something else.

Although I love haircare, I wanted to try something else. So, I started publishing about writing. It was new. I enjoyed it. So did my audience.

I posted and posted and started seeing traffic on my stories. I felt wonderful.

It took me 5 months to get my first 1000 followers.

But if you see my follower count, it says 1.2K followers. Just about 200 more in all these months?

Yeah!

Let me tell you.

It happened because I stopped publishing. I had some personal work in the beginning.

Then I had procedures to follow for getting my Australian study visa. I got it and now I moved to Sydney. Yayy!

So, I was off Medium and writing at all.

Still you all are so supportive. The number only went up after that break. It does not matter to me the figures are small. I love each one of you. Thanks for your support ❤

Now, let me come to the main point.

Why did I tell you all this above?

Just because I had nothing to say so I had to say something?

Nope!

I wanted to tell you a very important thing.

So, hear me out.

If you are stuck at your present situation, it is completely okay.

Do not overthink if you are not heading up in the direction you wanted to.

I was there. I still am somehow. But instead of worrying, analyze the whole situation. Work on solving it.

I learnt this while going through the process of moving to Australia.

Not everything is in your control. Things are going to take time.

I was trying to get the whole process done from last year and it happened now.

Do your work passionately and leave the rest to God or universe or whoever you believe in.

If you just started out and you are not getting results, try something else.

If it is your niche of writing, this is not the first or last niche in the world, right?

So, don’t give up.

Try. Experiment. Explore. Have fun!

That’s it from my side today.

--

--

Anamika Sharma

I write about writing tips & self-improvement | Writer from Australia